Lethal Excitement 4 Project Redstripe

Hollow tipped bullets have got a great reputation in 1980s action films. Dums dums, as these bullets are known in the professional killing community, do not pass clean through the body. Instead, they vibrate wildly, destroying all internal organs.

Why do I bring up these lethal weapons? Because I feel like I’ve been shot with a dum dum. A dum dum of excitement, that is. You see I’m shaking with anticipation, but keeping it all on the inside.

I think I’m in with a shout for this Project Redstripe lark, but can’t get too pumped about it, because I’ll be crushed if I don’t get it. There’s a permanent nervous energy coursing through me as I turn over the amazingness of this opportunity. Yet there’s a phony war feeling at the same time as it might pass me by. Hell, I just can’t wait to find out.

I thought I’d tie the post together by getting a pop culture reference, and first flick I could remember that has hollow point chat is Lethal Weapon. A trip to IMDB brought up the quote and how apposite it was. Unstable Martin Riggs, played by psycho young Mel Gibson, tells his partner Murtaugh he regulary contemplates suicide and he keeps a hollow point bullet to make a clean job of topping himself.

Check out the reason why he doesn’t end it all :

“You know why I don’t do it? This is gonna make you laugh! You know why I don’t do it? The job! Doin’ the job! Now that’s the reason!”

The job! Doin’ the job! Now that’s the reason for all this excitement too.

Keep your fingers crossed for me.

Crazy Mel

Leave a Reply

