The other hand

The one joke I know about economists is this:

Q: Why should you only hire one armed economists?

A : Because then you won’t have any of the “on the other hand”.

So this my on the other hand moment.

Have I been dumb getting this blog on the web? I didn’t ask. I just did.

DidI blather out stuff I shouldn’t? There’s not much to blather, but maybe I did.

I hoping these are the moments of doubt you get when you want something a lot. Me thinking the worst because if I’d put myself out of the game, before it started, it would be……bad.

I’m thinking about the pitch from Agency.com when they were going for Subway‘s online business. Not only did they make a bad pitch, but they put it on the web, potentially damaging the Subway brand.

The stink they caused was huge. Here’s a sample :

“Watch this video so you’ll never do this to yourselves. Do not create a video where you publicly masturbate, backslap and attempt to hipify yourself with viral goodness in front of the industry all in the name of cool factor and winning new business. (…)

Everyone in the industry needs to watch this. Not because it’s good but because it makes ad agency people look dumb and sound really stupid. It’s filled with mindless business blather, self-important ad speak, knuckle bangs, fashionably un-tucked shirts and way too many utterances of the word “dude.” It’s painful to watch.” (Link)

Is this blog brand damage? I hope not.

Mike, you said not just to send an email, so I didn’t.

I guess I’ll just have to see if it works.

If you got embarassed by The Office, and liked it, then enjoy.

Leave a Reply

