Back from the dead: the phoenix blog

This is the second blog I have written for The Economist and it’s good to be back. What happened to the last one? Well, I began it the moment I heard I’d got the job. I was so excited by it that I wanted to share that with the many others who are interested in The Economist.

Moreover, for some time I had been convinced that blogging would help me create better client relationships. Whilst looking for a work in media sales, I knew I would use a blog to communicate with customers in my next position.

A blog would be perfect way to help create client relationships built on trust and openness. However, I had not appreciated the fact that, in a large company, initiatives such as that can not just be started on a whim. I shut it down and began preparing a presentation to sell the idea internally – more on that later.

I deleted the blog, but I saved the posts I’d made and thought I could share some of them here. Starting with the description of myself which, for those who don’t know me, is accurate today :

Hi I’m Tom Shelley, a newbie Economist sales stooge (starting next Monday) with a real interest in publishing and the web.

This is where you can find out more on The Economist, more about what I’m doing and it should give you an insight into the best current affairs magazine in the world.

On top of all that I’ll be writing about the whole web/publishing/self-publishing/2.0 stuff from The Economist eye’s view.

Hold onto your hats it’s going to be very exciting indeed.”

Six months on and it’s still very exciting, I’ve still got a real interest in the web and I’m still thinking about “the whole web/publishing/self-publishing/2.0 stuff”, as I so eloquently put it.

Hopefully I’ll be able to move from thought into action.

One Response to “Back from the dead: the phoenix blog”

  1. vova.lodin Says:

    Hack again?!

Leave a Reply

